Updating System BIOS HELP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2005, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
Exclamation Updating System BIOS HELP

When downloading the BIOS update, it tells you to save it to the system first. Since I am can't get the laptop on line yet, is there a problem with saving it to a CD on a different PC, then copy to the laptop?

donnap1957 is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 76

No problems in doing that at all. Files aren't picky about what system you save them too, only on which ones you try to install them to.

Fallen Angel is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813

It just needs to be a bootable media. Most bio's flashes want you to boot from the cd or floppy, then the program runs before windows even starts. Shouldn't matter what media it is.
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

that will be fine. That what i did with my old P3 that wasnt connected to the net.
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29

But I want to be able to connect to the internet. Right now it is missing so many files and we dont have the software to restore it with.

What application were you running when you installed a new OS? Right now there it has Windows 98 and I have XP Pro that I can install.

Any tips before I dive into this would be GREATLY appreciated. I have already done a backup of my files.
donnap1957 is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29

OH NOOOO!!!! This isn't happening. I saved the updates including the BIOS on another PC. I just put in a CDR to copy the files to, then take the files to the laptop to execute them and found that the CDR is configured evidently to only play audio. It keeps saying to insert a CD and it is there. I tried several other CD's and it is not reading them. I put an audio CD in and it plays.

I am wondering, this PC was one I received from work when we upgraded our systems, and was used in a network environment. Although we have the CDROM, the permission levels restricts the users from downloading from the internet and/or installing applications. Is there some type of configuration or permission level that it is still seeing that is preventing the use of writing to a CD?

donnap1957 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.