Updating file in Media Player... NEED HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Thumbs down Updating file in Media Player... NEED HELP!

New here, and appearantly not very savvy either.
I bought a Pioneer 110D DVD burner and Nero software. The Nero 6.0 will not work with it. You need to update it to 6.6. The problem is, when I try to do it it won't install. It keeps giving me a message saying "Windows Media Player, or one of it's plug-ins, is currently using a file that needs updating"
I checked and checked and checked again, everywhere I could think of and 10 places I couldn't, but can't for the life of me find any Media Player being used anywhere.
I checked in the start-up menu under "Run-msconfig" and didn't really know my way around, but found nothing being used.
The DVD burner is useless without this update! Can anyone help find out how to STOP Media Player from using ANY file or anything else that won't allow me to update to 6.6?
Please save me the $30 to have the "Geek Squad" try and fix the problem!
Thanks,
KC
__________________

LowlyLionsFan is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

download this

Run it, and search for "wmplayer.exe"

see what you find.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I did that, but I'm not sure what to look for when I'm there???
KC
LowlyLionsFan is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

press ctrl + f and then type wmplayer.exe

That will show you if anything is referencing the player it's self. Then download this program. extract it, and run filemon.exe. This will allow you to see what is attaching to what. filter for wmplayer.exe and see if anything is looking at that.

Should be able to pin down what is running that way.
Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.