Up/down-load without reason when idle - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2007, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Question Up/down-load without reason when idle

Hello,

this is the first time I am writing in this forum. The reason I post this is because I encounter a very strange problem with my system.

When I dont move the mouse for several seconds and the system becomes idle my pc starts to download sometimes or upload some others, with all the bandwidth it's got. The problem is I don't know WHAT is being transferred and to whom.

There is no application running (torrent client etc). Just windows... any ideas?

PS I did spyware and virus scan but the problem insists...
__________________

socbar is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Up/down-load without reason when idle

Hello,

By bandwidth do you mean Internet bandwidth usage? Also, how are you identifying and measuring this bandwidth usage?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Up/down-load without reason when idle

What programs did you use to scan for malware? It sounds very much like you have a bot of some kind, perhaps a store-and-forward that sends out spam to the world with your IP on it. I hope I am wrong though.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 07:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Up/down-load without reason when idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alvin.C View Post
Hello,

By bandwidth do you mean Internet bandwidth usage? Also, how are you identifying and measuring this bandwidth usage?
I know my adsl speed line and with NetMeter I can see how fast I download or upload. And thats full speed :-) In addition, 2 other pc's that are connected to the Internet through the same router lag and cant even browse sites when my pc is doing this "suspicious" download...

Superdave I used Spybot Search & Destroy for spyware and Avast! for virus scan.
socbar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Temp low 80s on load and 50-68 on idle EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 21 05-28-2007 09:35 AM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.