Unmountable_boot_volume - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2005, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default Unmountable_boot_volume

Hi People,

I'd been having problems reinstalling WinXP on my old hard drive (BSODs, and no way of even beginning the install). So I bought a new hard drive with the hope of installing XP on that and then getting the files off the old hard drive. Unfortunately I'm getting BSODs with the above error message when installing the XP on the new hard drive. My typical method of installing XP has been to install Win98 then upgrade to XP or do a fresh install of XP (my XP disk doesn't auto boot). I'm able to install Win98 OK, but when I try to upgrade or do the fresh install of XP I keep getting the above BSOD.

1) Is it possible that the hard drive is dodgy, even though Win98 installs OK?
2) Is it possible that my BIOS is corrupt?
3) Motherboard??

The Microsoft Website says to run recovery console, but I don't get the option (or can't find it).

Help!!

Cheers,

Kyoto
__________________

Kyoto512 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q297185
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Hi Warez,

I've read that, but my current problem is that I can't get into recovery console. Does anyone know of problems getting into recovery console?

Cheers,

Kyoto
Kyoto512 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I think you should try instaling XP upgrade fresh. You simply do an install of XP. You will be prompted to insert a copy of the original 98se etc cdrom to verify that the you own a previous version of windows. If you do this you will install windows XP without going through the hassle of the initial 98 install and then XP udgrade. I would run fdisk on that new drive to return it to factory fresh before the XP install.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I wouldn't do anything too drastic yet.

If you've installed the recovery console on your system, then obviously it won't be accessible because it's on the partition in question.

You can get into the recovery console by booting into your Windows XP Installation CD. Make sure that you've set your boot order in your BIOS to check the CD-ROM Drive first. This shouldn't fail.

If you don't have the installation CD, then you can use a boot disk to perform a CHKDSK / R. I think the Windows XP Setup boot disks (the 6 boot disks) allows you to perform a CHKDSK...I'm not too sure. You can download it from the Internet here:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=310994

...I'm not too sure if it has CHKDSK functionality though. Also, I think there are better boot disks out there, somewhere, which let you do a CHKDSK using just one floppy disk.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Unmountable_boot_volume

Quote:
Originally posted by Kyoto512
Hi People,

I'd been having problems reinstalling WinXP on my old hard drive (BSODs, and no way of even beginning the install). So I bought a new hard drive with the hope of installing XP on that and then getting the files off the old hard drive. Unfortunately I'm getting BSODs with the above error message when installing the XP on the new hard drive. My typical method of installing XP has been to install Win98 then upgrade to XP or do a fresh install of XP (my XP disk doesn't auto boot). I'm able to install Win98 OK, but when I try to upgrade or do the fresh install of XP I keep getting the above BSOD.

1) Is it possible that the hard drive is dodgy, even though Win98 installs OK?
2) Is it possible that my BIOS is corrupt?
3) Motherboard??

The Microsoft Website says to run recovery console, but I don't get the option (or can't find it).

Help!!

Cheers,

Kyoto
All xp's cds are bootable.

http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx...exfullpage.htm
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 07:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks heaps for your help, guys - in particular Alvin and Rico. I'll let you know how things go.

Cheers,

Kyoto
Kyoto512 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 02:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Incredible: Turns out it was a corrupt WinXP installation disk. Go figure...

Thanks for everyone's help!

Kyoto
__________________

Kyoto512 is offline  
Closed Thread

« Problem | Telnet! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.