unmountable_boot_volume - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2006, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default unmountable_boot_volume

i get this error unmountable_boot_volume, most tips says i should use the xp disk to repair the voulme, but this message comes right before the window boot menu should come up!

i just built this pc with all new parts, sata 2 etc, no partition or format, yet when i put in the xp disk i get this, what can i do?
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 08:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=297185

Happened to me once...a CHKDSK /R fixed it for me. This would be a good first step.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 08:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

well i know i am using the right wire, but as they suggest there you should repair the system using the xp cd, but this message comes up before you get to the "Welcome to Setup" screen

and since there nothing on the harddrive, and i cant get to boot menu i cant do a chkdsk.
fuzz is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Go into your BIOS, change the boot order of your drives...

...You need to set your CD-ROM drive as the primary boot device.

Following that, save your BIOS settings and restart the PC. Make sure the CD is in the drive and when prompted, press any key on the keyboard to boot into the setup disc.

Once loaded, enter the recovery console, log into Windows, type CHKDSK /R and hit enter.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 09:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

nono the cd boots fine, its when its says "starting windows" and the menu is supposed to come up is when u get the error
fuzz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.