Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2007, 02:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD

Hi there I have a Toshiba Laptop and it's been working fine for the past couple of years. Yesterday when I turned the computer on the BSoD came up with an error message Unmountable_Boot_Volume. I looked around on the net and found out the Windows recovery console and chkdisk and all that stuff. My problem is that I can't seem to boot up with the Toshiba CD. The comp starts and shows a Toshiba screen or about 3 seconds then just goes to the "start up windows normally/Safe mode/Last Known good configuration" Screen and I can't get to boot up the comp from the CD.
Any and all help will be appreciated
Thanks a bunch guys.
Raj
__________________

Raj1991 is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD

When you get that Toshiba screen hit either the Delete key or F2. Get into the BIOS and see if it is set to boot from your CD ROM before the hard drive.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 05:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD

It doesn't work. I can't seem to get into the bios to make the comp boot up from cd. Any ideas anyone?
Thanks
Raj
Raj1991 is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD

Anyone got any ideas on how to get into the Bios? I can't seem to find a way.
Thanks
Raj
Raj1991 is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD

esc or f12. use spinrite 6.0 to fix your hdd. I fix a toshiba laptop 2-3 week ago with the exact same problem
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD

Thanks a lot I managed to solve the problem
Raj
Raj1991 is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD

What did you do?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Boot XP and Vista jasonhtml Microsoft Windows and Software 24 04-05-2007 01:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.