Unknown Drive G? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2007, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Unknown Drive G?

I have a laptop... with only one disk drive that is dvd rewrite. But in My Computer it shows a second disk drive that is used only for cds... but I don't have another disk drive. Is there someway to remove this drive from my system?
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

do you have something like poweriso or daemon tools in you machine?
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

I have ultraISO and I use to have PowerISO
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

got this laptop from a non NEW source?
sounds like a virtual drive...I use magicdisc....look for what ectech said or also magicdisc...etc. Probably a whole bunch to look for

EDIT: looks like poweriso is your virtual mounter. You can uninstall...or just unmount
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 11:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

"got this laptop from a non NEW source?" Umm... actually I spent a total of 4000 canadian on an alienware machine. I'm actually really happy with UltraISO, but its not even mounted to the disk... nor do I have powerISO installed anymore.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 01:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

Can you set the amount of drives to 0 or 'None' or somtehing like that? I know you can do that in PowerISO (I have PowerISO and DAEMON tools both). But, it's just a virtual drive is all.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-12-2007, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

All it says is mount... but I don't want to do that.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

Ok, well you can't disable drives with DAEMON tools either, just the option to mount. If you really want to remove it that bad, then you have to uninstall UltraISO then, because it sounds like it operates the same way that DAEMON tools does. I have 3 virtual drives in my system (2 regular drives, and then I have DAEMON tools, and PowerISO w/ 2 drives).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-12-2007, 07:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

I suppose you wouldn't know a way to go into the system and take the part of code where it shows this drive out?
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 08:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default Re: Unknown Drive G?

ughh..just disable in the device manager...
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Hard Drive Image question carnageX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 26 04-13-2007 08:02 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.