unknown device - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2007, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default unknown device

hi guys ive now install a fresh copy of windows on my formatted HD and now im ive come to a problem, in device manager im installing all the drivers for the hardware except for on device which i havnt got a clue what it is its under "other devices" and its called "PCI input device"
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: unknown device

Right Click and go to Update Driver and let Window's try to search for a driver for you.

Might not find it, but it's worth a shot.
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: unknown device

Did it find all your devices? NIC, video, sound, modem etc.? Try downloading Aida32 and see what your hardware is then you can hunt for drivers.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
TuNiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 153
Default Re: unknown device

what is Aida32
__________________
http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u...4/ForumTag.gif
http://www.sloganizer.net/en/image,T...hite,black.png
CPU Type: DualCore Intel Pentium D 820, 2800 MHz (14 x 200)
Motherboard Chipset: Intel Lakeport-G i945G
System Memory: 1024 MB (DDR2-533 DDR2 SDRAM)
Video Adapter: Radeon X1300 Series (256 MB)
Audio Adapter: Intel 82801GB ICH7 - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]
Disk Drive: WDC WD2500JS-22MHB0 (232 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive: WDC WD1600JS-00SGB0 (149 GB, IDE)
TuNiX is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: unknown device

yeah ive tried to let windows search for a driver but no luck and i have installed all the drivers for sound, graphics, usb, printer etc etc
robina_80 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: unknown device

tried Aida 32 still no luck
robina_80 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: unknown device

Unknown Device Identifier - Freeware Download
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: unknown device

i know what it is its my game port ive tried to install it in device manager by inserting my disk but it says "windows encountered problems installing your driver software for your device" and ive been on creatives website found the drivers for my sound card installed it on my computer and it installs fine in windows but i want to install the drivers in device manager aswell but to get rid of that Explamation mark

robina_80 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: unknown device

IT depoends. Most cards with game ports, including my Creative card, dont install the game port drivers. That is the fault of the people who write the drivers.

I am guessing that the disc is for XP not VIsta. HAve you tried ot install using XP Compatabilty mode.

Insert disc. Go not autorun. Computer>CD Drive>Rightclick>Properties>compatability tab>check boxes for XP SP2 and Run as Administrator.

See if that does anything. If Windows Update does find it and the drivers from the site and the CD dont work. You will have that question mark till the drivers get written for the device.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: unknown device

ive read up that microsoft no longer supports game ports no more and i extracted all the exe files and yet no joy i still can install in device manager
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
99% Memory used? tommyboy123x New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-27-2007 10:19 PM
My log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 08-23-2007 08:55 AM
my log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 06-07-2007 11:56 PM
Objecterror HJT Log objecterror Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-18-2007 12:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.