unimportant question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2005, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default unimportant question

hey all i have an odd question i think...
why does windows have bitmaps in its folder? C>windows
i dont get why it has pictures... maybe im confused on what a bitmap is...maybe it holds more than just the picture?
sorry im just curious...
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

usually those are just desktop backgrounds.
__________________

__________________

MY 1337 SYST3M:
(1)case - generic
some ram.
45jiga-hurts intel pentium VIIteen hollywood
some more ram.
asusapaloozatron v7542 mobo
(9)5kb HDD
45x DVD+-/*
mouse(black)
urbanwks is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

they aren't on my computer though thats the thing i cant find the pic through anything else just sitting there taking up space
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

hmm thats odd, i wonder if those are spyware or virus created files meant to take up space, or for some other purpose.
__________________

MY 1337 SYST3M:
(1)case - generic
some ram.
45jiga-hurts intel pentium VIIteen hollywood
some more ram.
asusapaloozatron v7542 mobo
(9)5kb HDD
45x DVD+-/*
mouse(black)
urbanwks is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

nope i scan with avg, norton, panda, trend, spybot, adware, spysweeper, and i got z/a
im paranoid..
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

yeah i'd be scared. thats kinda freaky.
__________________

MY 1337 SYST3M:
(1)case - generic
some ram.
45jiga-hurts intel pentium VIIteen hollywood
some more ram.
asusapaloozatron v7542 mobo
(9)5kb HDD
45x DVD+-/*
mouse(black)
urbanwks is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

not scared... just wondering why the heck they are there any one else got ideas?
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Probably for programs I guess. You know, when MS Word Starts up and that splash screen.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

yes... but again i cant find the screens no matter what i run or search through
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What are the names of the files?
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.