Unhide process - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to mager
Default Unhide process

Im using windows xp pro edition, and I need to unhide all of the processes, even ones that hide themselves after opening. I have heard there is a way with editing the registry. Does anybody know of a way to unhide processes?
__________________

mager is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What do you mean unhide processes? In the tray, or in the task manager?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to mager
Default

task manager
mager is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

that I know of, non of them are hidden.
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to mager
Default

Not true, a program I have when I open it, the process is hidden, if you know of a way to get this unhidden, it would be helpful
mager is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

programs like keyloggers and spy programs hide their processes
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Ahh, I forgot about that. I dont know if you can do a tweak to show them, but you can get fornsic software that let you view what is in your memory in real time. It's nice, but they are DAMN hard to use!

http://www.x-ways.net/winhex/index-m.html
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Try the following... it's the best program I have found for this.

http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/fr.../procexp.shtml
Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to mager
Default

Thanks a lot all, I will let you know if it works.
__________________

mager is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.