Unexplained system failures. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2004, 04:40 PM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

RIGHT when you turn on the computer press and hold cntrl AND alt while tapping the 'G' key right after the post 'beep' and right before the Goback screen. Its hard to time this right, so be patient. Goback should ask (if done correctly) if you want it to be removed or unhooked from the MBR. Press the 'F' key to do this. At this point the computer should restart going into windows. Go back may prompt to re-enable, for Gods sake say 'NO'! If you want to later, thats fine, lets just get up and running again. See if this works. It will keep the original restore points. If not, then the next operation will COMPLETELY remove go back.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 04:43 PM   #32 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Put in the system restoration cd (should be the first one) and choose to boot from cd. Continue until you see 'exit program' and choose that. You should be at the cd command prompt (whatever that is, may be d:\> who knows. Now type in

cd goback <enter>

now type Gb_prog /Disable <enter>

should warn about removing goback from all hard disks and all backup points. Go ahead and proceed. Then click yes to restart. That should fix it.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:03 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

I can't get to safe mode at all, I already tried the command prompt one too. I also tried using the DOS prompt on the drivers CD to copy files, but it doesn't recognize the external HD, and it says the C: drive is some kind of ram drive, I can't find the files on the HD anywhere.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:07 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

BTW: goback is no use to me anymore now that there are no safe restore points. I am TRYING to disable it, but it is taking about 15 minutes to clear even 1% of the history.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:20 PM   #35 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

oh yeah, will take awhile. especially if corrupted. DONT stop it, or that'll be even worse!
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:22 PM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

of course, that IS along time, too. looks like the initial issue has been found. Goback was corrupted in the MBR. Hopefully, this will cure it. if not, try the other ways to remove. and then finally, if it says removed succesfully and STILL problems, at THAT point try running 'fixmbr'. let me know how it goes!
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:52 PM   #37 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

hmm... I have another idea. try installing smartdrive onto a 3.5 disk, boot off of it and then run \i386\winnt.exe

you maybe able to install and boot to the usb drive that way.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:58 PM   #38 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

or, even this may work. try booting into dos (diskette or whatever). I believe you said it recognized it. So (making SURE its the USB drive and not the internal) use the command format <USB drive letter> /s.... example:

format d: /s <enter>

that should copy system files. then goto bios and see if you have an option under boot for 'boot to other' and disable any reference to boot to HD. try to FORCE it to boot to the USB device.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 08:00 PM   #39 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

but, as I've said before I realy DONT think you can install XP onto an external drive.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 08:05 PM   #40 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Hey, even better idea if none of this doesn't work. Maybe a little costly, but get a copy of Nortons Ghost 2003. Then (I think its a floppy that boots) it will make a ghost image. Do an image of the internal HDD and mount the image on the USB HDD. When thats done, assuming its succesful, format the internal drive reload and then access the ghosted image on the USB drive! Dont take my word on this, though. I would check out Nortons Ghost 2003 for product details and see if this is possible, but I dont see why it wouldn't. Plus, if none of the above works, this is about the last thing I can think of to save the data.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.