uneeded processes? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2004, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default uneeded processes?

Well, although ym computers running perfectly, im still bugged how my computer runs 4 different svchost.exe, and 2 different ati2evxx.exe

When i first installed my OS, i only had 1, now its growing. First off, i know that at least 2 are from past spywares that just boot up now without doing anything, but i cant tell which to get rid of. I know this cause i ran hijack this and it only saw 2 svchost.exe when there is actually 4 in my task manager. One problem can be that one is registered under System32, and the other system32. Well, if anyone thinks they can help, tell me.



Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\WkUFind.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\devldr32.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\my stuff\HijackThis.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
__________________

oblivion is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 05:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

The initial svchost.exe is for XP's RPC service.....a usual amount is 4,5,or 6 svchost entries depending on what hardware/software/services you are using.

Do THIS:

Start>(type) cmd (into the RUN box)>(type) tasklist /svc (at the flashing cursor)...now on your LEFT is the running svchost entries and on your right is the software/service group using each entry.

Google each entry to validate.

Some basic understanding of how XP works wouldn't go a miss would it?

NOTE the space before the / when typing 'tasklist /svc'

See below if on XP Home.
__________________

roho is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 09:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Roho, I couldn't get it to work. That would be nice to know. I must be Fat-Fingering it.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

I just found out that command only works for windows XP pro

is there another way

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q314056

I've been trying to get it to work too
Lobos is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Sorry for that oversight regarding XP Home.

Try here for tasklist dload:

http://www.mvps.org/sramesh2k/svchost.htm

HTH
roho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.