Unable to open IE links from programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2005, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default Unable to open IE links from programs

Anytime I try to open a link from a program (example, clicking on the link on an e-mail in Eudora or an upgrade page from a program) it opens a blank IE page with no text in the body or any address in the address field.

I'm currently using windows XP home edition w/ SP2. Any suggestions on what I can do to fix this.

This happens on any programs I click on a internet link.

Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________

Yak84 is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

try holding down the ctrl key then click the link
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I tried what you suggested. Didn't help.

Any other suggestions?
Yak84 is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

Looks like a problem with IE itself. You can try repairing XP. That might work.
__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.softwarepatch.com/internet/ie6.html


Download IE6
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 06:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I tried downloading the patch but it turned out I already had installed it.

I also tried "repairing" xp but I have misplaced my XP cd, so I couldn't continue.
Yak84 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 06:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You could uninstall it from add/remove windows components and reinstall it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 06:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. It worked! I'm stupid for not thinking of a simple solution like that. :drool:

Thanks Again!
Yak84 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 07:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

a lot of people dont even know its there
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.