unable to get to desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2005, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default unable to get to desktop

hey i turned of my comp one day and wen i restarted it the destop wouldnt show up so i pressed ctrl+alt+del and then ran explorer.exe and it worked fine but then i restarted it today and it did the same thing but this time the ctrl+alt+del didnt work it gave me this error "Task Manager has been disabled by your administrator" and thats imposible because i only have one account on my comp that is auto loggin. and i cant start in safe mode because my video card doesnt support that low of resolution.



AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

virus, try repair of windows then download AVG and run it also hijackthis.

Ste is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes

i never got how to use the repair function on the cd what do u do

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 12:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Put the CD in. Make sure can boot from CD. When needed hit key to boot. Windows will load files needed for setup. After that it will come to a menu with 3 options.
1. Install
2. Recovery Console.
3. Exit.

Here you want to install. I know it sounds weird but trust me. It will give you the EULA (End User License Agreement) Hit F8. It will then search for Windows installs. It should show up with you XP install. At this point you will have 3 new options.

1. Fresh install by hitting ESC
2. Repair install by hitting R
3. Exit by hitting F3 (not sure of this option bu t i think this is it)

Here is where you want to hit R to Repair. It will delete system files and the re-install them and XP should be back just fine with all your files in place. Hope that helps.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.