Unable to delete folder - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 10:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

ok i tried all of the suggested ideas but none of them seemed to work anyone else got any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What the name of the empty folder and have you tried to view all system files selection in folder options? right click on it and see how big the folder is also..
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

can you change any of the attributes of the folder?

if you cant even tamper with the attributes, you have a real problem on your hands and the answer might just be this: "fix it the Serian way:-)" (HD format and re-install windows)

But, if you can change the attributes:

try setting the folder to read-only and press ok to make the change.

then

go back to the folders properties and remove the read-only check and press ok.

Perhaps something went wrong and is making the folder think that it is "read-only" when there is no check(simple software problem) so, by making it 'read-only' then not 'read-only' windows will overwrite the faulty properties section of the file.

does that make sense?
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
What the name of the empty folder and have you tried to view all system files selection in folder options? right click on it and see how big the folder is also..
True, true. I have had problems deleting files when the name of the file was way too long. that is easy to fix in the cmd prompt considering everything gets shortened to 8char file names.
Seria is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

wow. Run a windows repair and then delete it maybe? sheeshh..What about one of those free file nuker programs do those actually work? I tried one once for a piece of spyware in a folder that wouldnt delete and it didnt work for crap!So I havent been a believer of those types of proggies.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cerberus98
i just put them on there so i could use the cd that they were on. I then deleted them and then tried to delete the folder but that didnt sem to go the way i planned. I had no trouble deleting the mp3s.
did you copy the entire folder from the CD? did you make a new folder and then just put the mps's in it? was the folder an existing folder before you used it to put in the mp3's?
Seria is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

i copied the files to a folder i created i think i cant really remember it was a while ago
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

what is the size of the folder?

what is the folders name?

have you tried the attribute switch?
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

the size is 0kb because its completely empty
The name of it is Mp3 Temp
And i tried the attrib switch but that didnt work
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

How bad do you want this file gone?

If it just kinda annoys you, then see if you can make it hidden and then it will kinda be gone.

If you are willing yo do anything, then fix your PC “SERIAN STYLE” :-)
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.