Ultimate or Home Premium - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 04:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwsclan View Post
Here is the skinny on NT 6.0 .

The way vista was made, it runs half the speed of any NT version before it.
To get the most out of your system either go with XP Sp3, or Vista RC2.

Also, look at the benches with SP1. There was a 1% improvement in speed, which is basically NOTHING.

The only way to get gaming performance is to stay with XP.
wtf is Vista RC2? I want DX10 and I want 64 bit and XP64 support is supposedly horrible. If I'm going to buy an OS I cannot see myself spending the money on antiquated software.

I knew when I asked this that there would be XP proponents, but I'm really just trying to decide between Ultimate 64 and Home Premium 64. XP is not an option for me.
__________________

__________________
Build Done
Cooler Master Stacker 830 Evolution
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4 x 1GB
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
BFG 8800GTS
E8400
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.11
Asus 20x SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Logitech G15 keyboard
Logitech G5 Mouse
Corsair 750TX PSU
Thermalright Ultima-90
Vista Home Premium 64
900RR is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

Dual boot. I run xp pro and vista home premium 64, but ive had so many issues with vista 64 (mainly because of SLI) that i keep going back to XP. Once i pull the plug on SLI i'll try to stick with vista.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 06:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwsclan View Post
Here is the skinny on NT 6.0 .

The way vista was made, it runs half the speed of any NT version before it.
To get the most out of your system either go with XP Sp3, or Vista RC2.

Also, look at the benches with SP1. There was a 1% improvement in speed, which is basically NOTHING.

The only way to get gaming performance is to stay with XP.
This is utter garbage. First off it does not run at half the speed of any NT version before it cause it ISNT NT BASED. It is just like XP and uses code from both the 9x platform and the NT platform. Where do you get that it is NT based? That is just so wrong.

The Benches with SP1 are so far off in comparison. We have already gone over this. They made those comparison's with machines that were very high end for XP but barely standard for Vista. You can not ocmpare them fairly without making the ground even for both. If you put in 1GB for XP which runs from 128MB then you should give Vista 3GB. Since 1GB is 3x the amount of RAM that XP needs to run.

As for gaming performance i can say from personal experience that there is no significant lose in gmaing. I lost 1 FPS!!! JUST 1!!!! No big difference there to make anyone stay in XP. Vista RC2 was one of the worst builds of Vista ever. Just by you saying that you should stick with Vista RC2 tells me you dont knwo a dang thing about using Vista. Vista RC2 cant even be used anymore since the TimeBomb has already gone off on it.

When will people stop reading every little word that these articles write about Vista? They are not fully accurate. They are only 1 person's single sided view of Vista. It is not the full story and not always the truth.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 09:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

I use both Ultimate and Premium. Mostly Premium since I use my laptop all the time, since I dont live at home where my rig in my sig is located. They both are very good operating systems, any version you choose is worth it.
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Xion Solaris Black/Green Mid ATX Case w/Neon Glow
Intel 975XBX2KR Intel Socket 775 ATX -Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Kingston Dual Channel HyperX 2048MB DDR2 800MHz
Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA Hard Drive
BFG GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB PCI-E Dual DVI/HDTV/HDCP Enabled Video Card
Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCI Sound Card
Sony DVD Burner and Sony 1.44 MB Floppy Drive
24" Samsung LCD TV/Monitor
Ioanni is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 03:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

Id Prefer Home Premium
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 07:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 111
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

Just out of curiosity why Vista 64? While Vista 64 is nice it can be tough to find drivers for some hardware.
servo.tsc is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 07:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

for more RAM support.. (aka use more than 3.5gb)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 08:39 AM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

64 Bit is supposed to be the next OS. The support for 32 Bit is supposed to decline and 64 Bit is supposed to take over and be the next OS platform.

At first for Windows 7 Microsoft announced that they would no longer support 32 Bit. They said it was gong to be a 64 BIt only OS. But after Vista was released and they saw that 32 Bit was still the majority they went back and said they would do a 32 Bit flavor as well.

OS X is no longer 32 Bit AFAIK. That has already made the switch over to strictly 64 Bit already.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 11:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

You have a 64 bit processor, why not use a 64bit OS?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 11:45 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 111
Default Re: Ultimate or Home Premium

I have both vista ultimate 32bit and ultimate 64bit both are loaded on amd 64x2 chips. I find the 32bit works better just my observation. I am also running into driver issues when it comes to third party hardware such as palm ont he 64bit. I hope that changes but it is an issue to consider when moving to a 64bit os from a 32bit os.
__________________

servo.tsc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Home Premium toxicity_27 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 12-16-2007 10:06 PM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM
Vista Home Premium 79.99 @microcenter veedubfreak Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-02-2007 01:11 AM
Vista Home Premium 32bit or 64bit cub1971 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 04-20-2007 08:18 PM
Vista Home Premium Media Center Question db_21 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-19-2007 09:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.