Ugh I hate wireless - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2005, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default Ugh I hate wireless

Aight so I have had this wireless network running fine and all for exactally 15 days...till today Ive been getting this bad 'wave' of traffic I get a connection: very good, low then up and down and up and down never constant, whenever I run a program that needs the internet it slows the connection down to low connection and 1mbps till I shut down that program and its back up to 11mbps. I reinstalled xp and I hope this will change that is there any way to prevent this in the future?
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 67
Default

Sorry, I don't have an answer for that. After I saw a news program where the techie guy from the news station sat out in front of some houses and intercepted their wireless stuff, I decided not to go wireless.
__________________

HeddaLora is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^if a person setup wireless encryption and filtered MAC addresses, there wouldnt be a problem.


reset the router by power cycle. (unplug it, wait then plug it back in).
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

Thank you guys for posting I formatted (thought that would work) didnt care I had a 137 gb hd and I gained 60gbs...any way it still does it and I get good connection sometimes but it drops like a brick randomly...I would like to know how to do that mac adresses etc and filtering so i can see if that fixes it.
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

what kind of router
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 08:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

803.11 or something like that
a d-link dl-514 I think
I can atleast access the panel from in my room so I dont have to run back and forth to the server and my comp
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

803.11 isn't wireless its wired ethernet
802.11 is wireless

Just wire it. Home wirless is crap.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

-_- its wireless I meant 802 or what ever
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 08:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

OMG LOL guess that fixed it...*knocks on wood*

I moved the antenna on the card down and I moved my side panle for my comp off... now I get very good and 11mbps :P
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.