Two Seperate Internet Connections - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Default Two Seperate Internet Connections

I have two Connections, Sympatico and Cogeco. Cogeco goes threw a router and gives me a local ip. Sympatico doesn't and i get an external one.
I want to have the Sympatico account blocked off from my computer except for azureus, which has a bind to IP feature so I can easily enough force it to use sympatico, but my other connection is never used. So i need a way to make my computer use the other connection for everything else. I was thinking there must be somewhere in Windows XP that tells it what connection to use when two are present.
__________________

Gotis is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

i not sure if this is what you want to do but if you right click on the network connetion you can disable it....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Default

now that i read my first post... that didnt make any sense at all, shoulda just said this first.

I want my second connection to be used solely for azureus, and not have other programs use it, where my first is normal and used for everything else.
Gotis is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I beleive your ISP has to be able to offer you this type of service
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Im not trying to consolidate them, im just trying to force my computer into using one of them for one program, and another for the other's. To me this seems like a completly windows based service.
Gotis is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1641359,00.asp

See if that helps
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Nope thats not what I need, thx anyways. The angle i was looking at this was : Since my computer does have two connections, and when one dies, i dont even notice it and it switches to the other, it must know of both. So if it knows of both, there must be somewhere that programs look to see what network connection has the internet, then uses it. I want to force it to tell all programs that there is only the one i specify, then I would go into Azureus and Bind it to the other connection and it would be the only thing that is using the bandwidth of that connection.
Gotis is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

This is what you need but not sure how to set it up on a home pc

http://www.checkpoint.com/press/2001...ity041201.html
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Ya, RainConnect looks like it would work, but after a bit of searching, looks like its gona be hard to get a hold of.
Gotis is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Phone: 877-RAIN-333 (USA)
408-382-5000 (Outside of USA)
Fax: 408-571-1111
sales@rainfinity.com


ask them how much
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.