Two OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2004, 12:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default Two OS

Could any one tell me what the advantages and disadvantages of having two operating systems on the same computer, and how I would go about acomplishing such a task if I decided to do so. Any info is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 01:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Post Easy

XP does not support older versions,if you still want to play or use Dos/W9x software,Thats why.

But how to dual boot has not got a reply yet.

__________________

bluto is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 01:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

You can always download a utility called VMWare...

This will let you create your very own virtual computer.. you set it up any way you like.. its pretty awesome.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 03:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default

partition the hard drive. Install one OS on one side and the other on the second. You can use a program like partition magic and it will give you other really nice tools to use, I think it has a dual boot option. Or if you want to be crude just fdisk. You won't be able to swap from one OS to the other... but both should work out okay.
Bill is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 06:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 81
Default

If you use Linux as a second OS it has LILO in it, it will help much when you boot up.
__________________
With respect, 00110011011110000111000000110000
3xp0 is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to maxieray Send a message via Yahoo to maxieray
Default

hi
If you want to say run games on 98SE and do the other stuff with xp you can do that.

Just install the older os first then install the newer one.

It will write a boot loader for you asking which os to boot.

Regards
Maxieray
__________________

maxieray is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.