Tweaking xp downloading utility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2005, 08:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default Tweaking xp downloading utility

I was trying to download more programs at the same time but it seems XP has limit this to only two downloads at one time. I read somewhere(can't remember) that one could change this aspect within the system, somewhere. Could someone please provide with the info on doing this? Thanks.
__________________

tiking is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 09:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i believe this is Internet Explorer, not just a windows XP prob, make sure to check your IE options twice in case u ran over it.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks, may I ask where to check this?
tiking is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I just used download excellerator for this stuff.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Hi Harper. Do you have a link? Is it freeware or payware?
tiking is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

in IE, even tho i dont recommend using it at all, check the tools/options menu, check internet preferences too( these are in the drop down menus at the top of the screen) don't ask where to find them cuz i havent used IE in a while.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 03:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Hey why don't you try this: TweakXP.Com

TweakXP.Com also has there own free tweak download utility.
ApM is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 04:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks. I'll try there. Thanks all.
tiking is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 06:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

use firefox u can DL as much as u want at once and its better that IE. pop up blocker and faster surfing

link: http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 07:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Start the Registry Editor
Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Internet Settings
Select New > DWORD Value from the Edit menu
Name the new value MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server
Right-click the MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server value and choose Modify
Under Base, click the radio button next to Decimal
In the Value Data: box enter the number of simultaneous connections you want to set (for example 10 is a good value), and click OK
Repeat steps 3 - 7 using the new value MaxConnectionsPerServer
Exit the registry editor

There isn't nothing wrong with IE. Give Firefox some time and there will be just as many problems with it as IE. There were always be security holes, glitches, etc. in any type of software, IE is just as stable as any other browser. They are already finding glitches, security holes, etc. It's just not as popular as IE so the hackers, etc. attack them more often. I have never had a problem with IE, like it better than Firefox. This is the info you wanted to download more, I don't know why it wasnt posted sooner, seems like everyone always goes around the posters questions instead of just giving a quick straight answer instead of telling them to switch to this or use that. Hope this works, it will.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.