TV as second monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 02:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default TV as second monitor

I am using S-video out on my video card to watch videos on my tv (TV is replica of desktop) and I am wondering if there is a way I can set it up so that the tv is like a second monitor. What I would like is to have one big desktop split between my monitor and TV, much like the new apple setups I've been seeing.

This would enable me to watch a movie on my TV (via the computer) and still be able to see my desktop, because the video would only be on the TV.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Talking

nevermind i figured it out@!
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Hey kizzeith...question for you? How does the quality look when you do a TV OUT setup for you? Does it look like crap and limited to 640X480 resolution or do you actually have a decent TV? Mine is so old I ran a TV OUT to it to try and game on it..and noo..simply no..lol..It was far to big and way to crappy lookin
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.