tv monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2010, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Default

So i just got a new PC, hooked it all up and I cannot get it to display on my TV without a black boarder. I know this is bad for my tv so I cant just deal with it. Also, it worked just fine with my laptop hooked up to it ( also running windows 7) any suggestions?)

also, i have made sure my drivers are up to date and the resolution is set to the highest setting
not sure if this makes a difference but it is a 42 inch lcd tv hooked up with hdmi cable

its on 1920 by 1080, i really dont understand why this black boarder is here

the only big difference is this is an amd processor and the laptop is an intel
__________________

gavanover is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: tv monitor

Please use the edit button instead of multi-posting.

What can your card output as far as resolutions? What does the TV support for its native resolution?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Default

my PC says that its at its native resolution, however there is a inch and a half of a black boarder

im pretty sure thats all the card goes up to 1920 by 1080. Thats what my laptop was on as well and it didnt have this boarder either

Newer info: Starcraft two just told me my video card driver was out of date however i just used the windows 7 driver updating software to scan the internet and it said it was up to date
gavanover is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: tv monitor

Stop multiposting and use the edit button.

Update your drivers from the manufacturer's website then, and see if that fixes the issue.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Default

im trying to find it with no luck. Not really sure where to look.
i at the ASUS web page-my video card is an asus 5830- but i cant find where you download drivers

--ok , i downloaded what i thought to be the drivers and it didnt work.

i downloaded it here http://usa.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=M12ezvZQvbHlsCxF
I downloaded all 3 of the items it said it found

am i supposed to put it somewhere or something? it is in the downloaded file

I extracted them....still didnt fix my problem

I have try'd everything that I can think to look up, someone please help


i keep looking around for something that might help but i cant come up with anything. Anyone have any idea at all what might be going on?

alright, so incase anyone wants to know it was due to uncderscanning wich can be changed in the scaling options in your video card interface.
gavanover is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Monitor Driver, need help. DominusEnigma Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-03-2009 04:43 PM
HDTV or computer monitor? StrBarryTree Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 12-03-2008 02:46 AM
Multiuse Monitor Xarulsis New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-02-2008 10:24 AM
Monitor Speakers and DVD Player Blackmoore Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-07-2008 07:53 AM
Monitor resetting Screamsalvation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 07-30-2007 03:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.