Turn off Hard Disks? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default Turn off Hard Disks?

I was just wondering (I doubt it though) if there is any software or way which allows you to shut off a HDD while in Windows. Obviously it would be a slave drive and would turn itself back on when needed.
I was just wondering this because I dont use my second drive much and I may as well turn it off. Can this be done because when you put your computer into Standby you can choose for it to turn off the Hard Disks. I would especially do this when leaving on for downloads.
Please tell me if I am asking a stupid question and please no one say unplug it!
Thanks people
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well I think you probably can but I wouldn't advise it because every time your hard drive spins up it puts strain on the motor. I've heard that the motor can wear out much quicker if you do this.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

yeah good call....i wouldnt want to do any damage. i suppose if i only used it when downloading overnight it wouldnt hurt. thanks mate. any ideas how to do it btw?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

any ideas people?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well all I know is that you can do something if you go to your screen saver settings. You can tell your computer to spin down the hard drives after the computer has not been used for a while. However, both will be affected I think. But if this is possible in Windows then I'm pretty sure that there is some third party software that can just do one.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Start > Settings > Control Panel > Power options

You should see a drop down box labeled "Turn of hard disks", where you may then select how long you would like the computer to idle before the drives are shut off.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

ya but he only wants to shut off one drive and still use his pc i think so setting them to both spin down after so much wouldnt do much good. is it possible to disable it in device manager. i only have one drive so i dont even have the option to disable my hdd but i can most of my other hardware. if u have 2 drives it mite let u disable the non windows one, maybe.....
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 12:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

thanks neversleeps....yes i still want to use the computer and it wouldnt go into standby and turn off the harddisk if i was downloading anywayz.
Can anybody confirm neversleeps suggestion?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

anyone?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 09:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Not really. If it's a laptop that has two drives, chances are one's removable through a hot-swap, so just dissengage it.

If this is a desktop, what's the reason?
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.