trying to get this to work. help please - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 03:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

no, i don't have a floppy drive. basically when i turn on the comp the dell screen shows alows me to go to setup or boot. if i don't pic either it goes to the next screen where it just sits there with the underscore blinking. it does nothing past this.
__________________

Origin is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 03:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

how u have been booting before? some CD/DVD ? as u mentioned that you instlaled Floppy Disk in ur gf's PC. and booting from there.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 03:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

yeah the main reason i used the floppy was to get xp off from my 98 start up disk. now its back out of the system and used the cdrom to boot. ive started the comp again and booted from my 98 cd rom again. so now im installing windows again. im going to try and do it all over again. i think i might have messed up and im goin gto try and go through it again.
Origin is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 03:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

first delete all the partitions and then r-make partitions as per requirement, or as I told before

keeping multiple partitions help in saving the data, as you wont have to worry about data in drice d/e, as u can only re-install windows in C (on FAT32, regardless of what u r instlaling, 95/98/me,/2k/xp/linux)
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 01:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

hey man, i just now am getting back to this. i have been absolutely swamped at work/working on other hobbies and im just coming into problems as i do this and i really can't go back and forth trying to figure this out. can anyone reach me on aol or msn, i would greatly appreciate it and just walk me through it. thanks to any one who can be of assistance.
Origin is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 02:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

ahhh help
__________________

Origin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.