trying to extract .exe file - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2008, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default trying to extract .exe file

il try my best to explain here goes... im trying to extract an exe file so i can let windows install the driver for me through device manager, when i mean extract i mean so all the files are exposed so windows can grab the files it needs, i know how to extract files through winrar but for some reason when i right click on the exe it doesnt have the option to let me extract all the files
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

WinRar.

Right click on the .exe file and choose Extract to <file name> folder.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

i have tried that but for some reason it doesnt let me
robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

Then there has to be something wrong with the .exe file cause i just did it with 5 seperate files. All drivers all for different items.

Try redownlaoding the .exe file. For what device is this?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

http://www.topshareware.com/download...resgrabber.zip


maybe this?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

its a driver for a network adaptor il give you the link so you can try if you want but ive extracted my audio drivers printer drivers but for some reason it doesnt work on this one

Support Page

im trying ver 5
robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

I dont see what the problem is. I extracted the file just fine, all I did what run it.

Here are the files in zip format

MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

I am with Osiris. I extracted it just fine.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 06:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

the file that orisis gave me i can install because i need ,net framework and i cant install that because windows gives me an error i think its because ive got win vista
robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 06:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trying to extract .exe file

Vista has all the .NET frameworks already installed.

So that cant be the problem. Are you trying to force a XP driver onto VIsta?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTF is a Bad Block? MikesCreation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 02-24-2008 09:31 PM
Hard Drive Errors!!! Bad or Faulty HDD? mike4realz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-19-2007 01:56 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
My log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 08-23-2007 08:55 AM
Another Hijack Log boo HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-26-2007 12:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.