Trying to dual-boot XP/Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2008, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Trying to dual-boot XP/Vista

So I had XP installed, and reformated and installed Vista. Games were kinda laggy so I decided to install XP and my games on my Raptor and use Vista for everything else.

I unplugged my Vista drive while doing that so that I didn't mess anything up. Apparently I shouldn't have, according to a few guides.

So my question now is, how do I make the Vista boot loader load XP without reformating anything again?

I've tried programs like EasyBCD and VistaBoot Pro and they didn't help any. I can add an entry but it just says I'm missing hal.dll from <windows root>\system32 or something...

It is not accessing the right path to load XP.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 12:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Trying to dual-boot XP/Vista

Use EasyBCD. I work on those forums as well so i know this issue well.

Troubleshooting Windows XP - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

Read thru the Wiki we wrote up on the common issues you will come across.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Trying to dual-boot XP/Vista

When using EasyBCD I only have the option to select C:\, but XP is installed to E:\.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Trying to dual-boot XP/Vista

I know this part is in the Wiki as well. Under teh NTLDR is missing.

You have to copy over the NTLDR, NTDETECT and boot.ini files to the Vista drive and place them in the root of the drive.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Trying to dual-boot XP/Vista

Ok I did that, same problem.

Code:
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
Is this correct? The XP install is on my Raptor (second drive) and on the only partition.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Trying to dual-boot XP/Vista

Quote:
Double-check that multi() and disk() are both set to 0, and verify that rdisk(x)partition(y) points to the correct partition where Windows XP is installed.
My guess would be that the rdisk would be 2 and partition 0 since it is the 2nd drive with no partitions.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with setting up dual boot mode briana06 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-10-2008 05:33 PM
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
Dual Boot (question) zaki1990 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 07-14-2007 10:29 PM
Dual boot Question with Vista and XP (help appreciated) Deadpixel Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-29-2007 07:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.