trying again with a new title...... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2004, 09:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default trying again with a new title......

Microsuck Windows is getting to me. aside of the BoD's that i get, there's this error that keeps popping up: "IoCtl failed!. and after you click ok, NOTHING WORKS!!!! NOTHING! NO AUDIO, NO INTERNET, NO VIDEO. and if i push the pc a little too much, another BoD occurs. i stopped it from restarting so I can get a look at message and figure out what's causing it and there's no information except the error type and the addresses. here is the errors that i've seen so far. BAD_POOL_CALLER (obviously some program can't handle memory allocation!), and KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED with references to addresses beginning at 0x8........ all the articles on microsoft.com regarding these errors, have to do with programs i don't even have installed. please, is there anybody who can enlighten me on this? OS:Windows 2000 Pro. i wold reformat but i'm waiting to get another HDD to ghost my current state, just in case.

i'd appreciate any input. it's not an emergency but i am the curious type...........
__________________

subdivizion is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Best i can add for now is what are you useing now ?
You seem to have it running ok.
__________________

stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 04:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i do not understand why you would ghost a state where your OS seems corrupted? if you have drivers for all your devices i wouldn't hestate to reinstall. after that you could ghost that image and clone it to the new disk. seems wierd he would overclock and run win2k.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

no, not overclocking, i put too much work on this PC to risk it like that. i would Ghost the system just in case if I reinstall it and it gets worse i can reformat and load that image to this state which i'm used to. anyway, I'll probably try to endure this aws long as possible and then i'll probably reformat.

by the way, what's the average maximum amount of times you can reformat a HDD before it starts failing? just so i know when it's time to get a new one...

thanx for your responses.
subdivizion is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 01:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hi

You could try this
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=307128
It might help.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

thanx sPlAtOiD. i had actually seen that article but didn't help much. it regards Windows XP users. thanx for your help anyway.
subdivizion is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

I would say that you have a motherboard issue,, or an IDE cable issue,,

Particularily the Input Output CONTROLLER<,,

Check out MOBO diagnostics,, and try a substitute ribbon,, plus on the BSOD,, post the message exactly,,

cheers
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

would a repair-install help at all?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 10:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

thanx again for your feedback.
IDE cables are a little old so i'll go get some new onew. i'll probably get rounded ones too too improve my airflow. diagnostics say everything is fine. i'll post exact message when it happens again. like i said it's not often that it happens.

i'm about to try a repair on my Windows 2000. hey, it just might be a corrupted system driver...
subdivizion is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

ok well, here's the dump file and its analysis!!!! not what i expected but it looks like my audio card's driver is causing it... right?

Loading Dump File [C:\WINNT\Minidump\Mini030304-01.dmp]
Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

Symbol search path is: C:\WINNT\Symbols
Executable search path is:
Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 2
*** WARNING: symbols timestamp is wrong 0x3ee650b3 0x3ee6c002 for ntoskrnl.exe
Windows 2000 Kernel Version 2195 (Service Pack 4) MP (2 procs) Free x86 compatible
Kernel base = 0x80400000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0x80484520
Debug session time: Wed Mar 03 14:54:37 2004
System Uptime: not available
Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 2
*** WARNING: symbols timestamp is wrong 0x3ee650b3 0x3ee6c002 for ntoskrnl.exe
Loading Kernel Symbols
.................................................. .................................................. .................
Loading unloaded module list
...........................
Loading User Symbols
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck C2, {7, b8a, 83daec20, 83daec28}

unable to read from 80482a04
unable to read from 80482a08
unable to get MmPageSize - probably bad symbols
Unable to load image e10kx2k.sys, Win32 error 2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for e10kx2k.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for e10kx2k.sys
Unable to load image kmixer.sys, Win32 error 2
*** WARNING: symbols timestamp is wrong 0x3dee36d2 0x3e9cd5c3 for KS.SYS
Unable to load image sysaudio.sys, Win32 error 2
Probably caused by : e10kx2k.sys ( e10kx2k+dad6 )

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

1: kd> !analyze -v
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

BAD_POOL_CALLER (c2)
The current thread is making a bad pool request. Typically this is at a bad IRQL level or double freeing the same allocation, etc.
Arguments:
Arg1: 00000007, Attempt to free pool which was already freed
Arg2: 00000b8a, (reserved)
Arg3: 83daec20, Memory contents of the pool block
Arg4: 83daec28, Address of the block of pool being deallocated

Debugging Details:
------------------

unable to read from 80482a04
unable to read from 80482a08
unable to get MmPageSize - probably bad symbols

BUGCHECK_STR: 0xc2_7

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 000000c2 to 8046ca6b

STACK_TEXT:
eb433a68 000000c2 00000007 00000b8a 83daec20 nt!MiFreePoolPages+0x668


FOLLOWUP_IP:
e10kx2k+dad6
bfbecad6 ?? ???

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

SYMBOL_NAME: e10kx2k+dad6

MODULE_NAME: e10kx2k

IMAGE_NAME: e10kx2k.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 3b4e7915

STACK_COMMAND: kb

BUCKET_ID: 0xc2_7_e10kx2k+dad6

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
__________________

subdivizion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.