Try to use my Dell Dimension 3000 as a server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2004, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default Try to use my Dell Dimension 3000 as a server

I have formatted my brand new Dell computer. It originally comes with Windows XP Home edition installed on the HD.

Now I have formatted the HD and installed Windows 2003 server.

All the drivers that comes with the Dell are only compatible with Windows XP.

I can't even use my NIC card to logon to the internet.

What should I do? Thanks.
__________________

Discusman is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

well...from what i've heard, seen, and read server 2003 is xp only with server software, install ur drivers and u should be fine.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by delldude4100
well...from what i've heard, seen, and read server 2003 is xp only with server software, install ur drivers and u should be fine.
The driver for the NIC card is not compatible with Windows 2003 server OS. I've already tried it.

The NIC card is Intel Pro M100 Integrated NIC Card.

I've also did a search on Intel's website for that NIC card driver. They do not have it.


I am guessing that NIC is just made for windows XP (non-server os)ONLY.
Discusman is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

You could always go pick up another NIC, as they are pretty cheap.
chog is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chog
You could always go pick up another NIC, as they are pretty cheap.
This could be one of my options.

What NIC card is compatible with Windows 2003 server OS?

The new Dell is missing serveral other drivers for its hardware components also. But the NIC is the biggest issue at this point because I can't access the internet without NIC.


Do you guys think is it worth to return the Dell desktop and buy a Dell poweredge server?

I like to hear your opinion. Thanks.
Discusman is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 10:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

With them being as low as $350, if this is what you really wanna do with it then go for it.
chog is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default Too much problem with returning the Dell

I realized returning a Dell to Dell Inc is a big hassle and I would told the shipping cost is couple hundred dollars.

Now I am thinking more about modify my Dell Dimension 3000 to a server.

I called Intel and they told me My NIC card Intel Pro 100M Integrated PCI NIC is not compatible with windows 2003 server OS. It only works with Windows 2000 and XP.

In Device Manager, I found a question mark next to the following devices:

Ethernet Controller
Multimedia Audio Controller
PIC Simple Communication Controller
SM Bus Controller
Discusman is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 11:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

just take a look at the hardware. Goto dell.com or what ever search threw the piles apon piles of drivers (unlike ibm, thatll teach you!) then install and your done. This doesnt seem to overly hard to me, but then again I did skipp threw alot of this thread.
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 01:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Default

get a copy of windows xp so reinstall it and all shud be fine
__________________

Gurps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.