Try To Reinstall Win 98se After Eraseing Hd With Active@killdisk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Try To Reinstall Win 98se After Eraseing Hd With Active@killdisk

MY COMPUTER IS A DESKTOP 18 GB SYSTEMAX 44X MAX GLOBLE WITH AN ATHENTIC AMD PROCESSOR AND MMX 3D NOW. NUMBER SYX MS-EA--46916 SERIAL # 003392961. I was having a lot of problems with spy ware and my computer freezing up. So a friend told me to run ACTIVE@KILLDISK to erase all data on my hard drive. I did run active@killdisk thinking that I would still be able to boot up my computer and reinstall windows 98se again from my floppy and windows 98se CD designed for PCs without WINDOWS. My hard drivr is now wiped clean. My computer now boots up to where it says SEARCHING FOR BOOT RECORD FROM FLOPPY...NOT FOUND
SEARCHING FOR BOOT RECORD FROM IDE-O. .OK BUT NOTHING HAPPENS, IT JUST STAYS AT THAT POINT AND DON'T PROCEED ANY FURTHER. I HAVE MY MICROSOFT BOOT DISK INSERTED AND MY WINDOWS CD INSERTED. COULD YOU RECOMEND HELP TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM.
THANKS
papperbob1@cs.com
__________________

papperbob1 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

might check the boot order in the bios. It is possible that the computer is set to boot Hdd before the rest. or they are disable entirely.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY. THE SYSTEM IS SET TO BOOT FROM THE A DRIVE OR FLOPPY DRIVE FRIST.
THANKS
papperbob1@cs.com
papperbob1 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Might have a bad floppy. Try downloading the WIn98 boot disk from
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm
and then create a new one. This might be the problem.
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 05:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

THANKS FOR YOUR ADVISE, YOU WERE RIGHT. MY BOOT FLOPPY WAS BAD. BUT I STILL HAVE A PROBLEM. MY COMPUTER BOOTS UP NOW TO WHERE IT SAYS PREPARING TO START YOUR COMPUTER. THIS MAY TAKE A FEW MINUTES.
THE DIAGNOSTIC TOOLS WERE SUCCESSFULLY LOADED TO DRIVE D.
MSCDEX VERISION 2.25
DRIVE E: = DRIVER MSCD001 UNIT 0
TO GET HELP, TYPE HELP AND PRESS ENTER
A:\>

SHOULDN'T THE DIAGNOSTIC TOOLS BE LOADED TO DRIVE C, INSTEAD OF DRIVE D?
ANY IDEAS ON WHAT I CAN TYPE IN ---- A:\> -----TO CONTINUE LOADING WINDOWS FROM MY CD?
THANKS AGAIN FOR GETTING ME THIS FAR.
papperbob1@cs.com
papperbob1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.