Is it true? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2004, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to I)arkTemplar
Cool Is it true?

Last night, I was on MSN chatting with my cousin in China (I was here in Canada), and he asked me to try his program that he made. It was a chat program, he sent it. I received it, gave him my world IP address, then we were just testing it. It worked fine. Then back on MSN, he told me that I did a great job of making my computer safe, that after scanning me, he only opened ports 25 and 110 or something like that.
I'm just wondering, did I REALLY do something? Because I don't recall doing anything technical, except for S&D, maybe that was it... lol
__________________

I)arkTemplar is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

try www.grc.com and click on the "Shields up" link.

Tis a true indicator if you did indeed make yourself secure.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

Hey this is perfect, i always used to use the symantec security check, but ever since i got Win2003 it kept on saying i was incompat, but yeah this is the first security scan that ive found that works with windows 2003, Thanks
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Great link...I found some security info. that I didn't know.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 08:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to I)arkTemplar
Default

Wow ty so much
I)arkTemplar is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 11:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

And patches that work as well as microsoft's... or even better...
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Thumbs up

Nice Link Dinkel Dude!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Default

thanx for LINK
Jetta-GT- is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 04:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

my PC passed the test with all ports as "stealth" I use Zone Alarm Pro
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 06:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
JQG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Default

Thanx for the link MrDinkel
__________________

JQG is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.