trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2007, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

I installed Vista Business on my computer, with WMP 11.0.6, and after that, I began having trouble streaming both video and audio on my computer. I can't access services such as launch.yahoo or videos on any site - I didn't have this problem when I was running XP Pro, or even in previous installs of Vista.

I've tried disabling both my firewall and anti-virus, and tried each of the following streaming protocols UDP, TCP and HTTP, but am still unable to stream.

Does anyone have any suggestions about what I may have overlooked, or ways to let me stream music/video again? It's just this computer, my laptop with XP pro on it can access launch.yahoo just fine, so I know it's not my internet connection.
__________________

gnu is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

Itsnt that version the one used with the pre-beta version of SP1 for Vista? If so uninstall it. That should solve your problem.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

The WMP I have is whatever Vista came with stock. I don't have any beta version software on my computer.
gnu is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

It could be Windows Firewall is blocking them. Also have you gotten the Flash player isntalled and all the required codecs?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

Yup, all Codecs up to date, and Flash/Java are working fine. Turning off the firewall has no effect.

It's weird because I was able to stream just fine when I previously installed Vista. It was only after I had to re-install that this problem popped up.
gnu is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 09:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

Are you using IE7 with Vista or another browser? Does it happen in all browsers or just IE? Do you have any other firewalls that could be blocking this?

What did you install before the flash stopped working? I know this seems like a lot of questions but they are all so we can try and narrow down the culprit.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

Yes, IE7 with Vista Business. I'm running Symantec AV. I can't think of any programs in particular that I installed that caused the streaming issues - I have the same programs I had before, including the AV, and I could stream music. Are there other factors in Windows Vista itself, beside the firewall, that might block streaming media?

It's odd: videos from youtube and the internet radio on iTunes WILL stream. Music and video from launch.yahoo.com, cbs.com/innertube, etc, and most other sites will not stream. Does WMP, which both yahoo and cbs use as their media player, have additional settings I'm not aware of?
gnu is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 11:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: trouble streaming audio/video on VISTA

It could be that they are using the media player 10 not 11. That way you could not view the videos cause your version of WMP is not recognized.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with Vista/ Sli? clendn PC Gaming 0 08-26-2007 01:17 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista-Vista Explorer=Crap MrWiggle Microsoft Windows and Software 10 07-24-2007 02:12 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.