trouble running program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 521
Default trouble running program

When I try to run a program it gives me an error message right at the beginning:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
Runtime Error!
Program C:\Program Files\Dolomo\Dolomo.exe
This application has requested the runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information.


The program still runs for a bit but if when I use it it keeps shutting down. Incidentally I didnt have this problem when I had more disk space. I dont know if this is relevant? I have 480 Megs of disk space at this moment.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
***************************

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Thats too low isn't it recommended you have a least 4 gigs of free space on a windows system? I'm willing to bet due to your low free space your swap file and ram are being overworked.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yeah, 480MB isn't enough space. Try cleaning some more if you can, and reinstalling.

BTW Tyler, it's funny how Linux screws up our thoughts when it comes to Windows, isn't it?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I try to look at all four views and try my best to learn about Windows, Linux, UNIX, and Mac.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 521
Default

It can't be 4 gigs. I've never had that much free space on this machine(!) and I've been able to run it before. But I guess I do need more free space then. Let's see.....

thanks guys
__________________
***************************

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Unless proven wrong I think 4 gigs is correct I'll even go as far as to say that is when a windows warning messege will apear warning you your discs are almost full.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 521
Default

I forgot to mention: my computer is a P3 bought in 2000, with a total capacity of 30 gigs. Is the 4 gigs still relevant with such limited space?
__________________

__________________
***************************

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.