trouble reformating - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 01:41 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

ya but shouldn't it boot off the disk? maybe it's my bios.

any idea?
__________________

__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 02:02 PM   #42 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

just follow the instructions until you figure that part out. then you can print your homework
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 05:53 PM   #43 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

ok well i put xp on my hd from a different computer and did everything on it so all i had to do is plug it into my computer. but then i plugged it in my computer and now it says, there is no operating system but i know there is one but it's not reconizing it.. so im guessing i need a boot ini file to tell it that i have a os or something.. any help?
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 06:13 PM   #44 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if you have service pack 2, that trick doesn't work anymore
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 06:16 PM   #45 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

nope service pack 1 is wut i have
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 06:25 PM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

so do u know wut im looking for?

boot disk or something!?
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 07:17 PM   #47 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

does anyone know?
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 07:34 PM   #48 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
use the xp startup discs (6 floppies) to help install it since your computer doesn't want to boot form the cd. put your first xp floppy and your xp disc in at the same time. the floppy will read the info from your xp disc

are you sure that your computer is set to boot from the cd first? it should be cd, floppy, hard drive in that order
you can install xp on that computer if you follow this
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 08:26 AM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

i put my hard drive on a different computer and installed xp, it works fine, xp boots up and everything.. but when i put it back in the original case, the one i want it in, it gets the dumb stop error.. just to let u know, i installed xp on the working computer, the one that i can get on with my hard drive.. so wuts the problem?

i have service pack one
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 08:34 AM   #50 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Answered this on the other thread 2Fast.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.