Trouble with installing WinXP Pro - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 06:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Xp Home came installed. But SP2 wasnt out when I got it. I believe it is SATA, but the maxtor page says PATA..
__________________

houndofspace is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by houndofspace
Xp Home came installed. But SP2 wasnt out when I got it. I believe it is SATA, but the maxtor page says PATA..
you might have a floppy sata maker on your mobo cd. what your mobo make and model?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 08:19 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

ok.. the fun continues.

I used maxblast 4 and partitioned the hard drive. i then booted from the cd. Once again it said that it didn't recogize a hard drive on my comp.

kill me now
houndofspace is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 08:54 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

i really don't know that i could tell you my mobo make and model. There are a few barcodes on it:

one says: Dell REV.A02
another: AA C8095-206
the last: DS/N CN-0U2424-48111-435-00YD


I'm really not sure that helps. It's got intel chips all over it and it is a Dell XPS gen 2.

bleh
houndofspace is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:22 PM   #25 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I don't know what to say anymore, you really need to find that driver. My other solution is to install Windows on another HD that it recognizes, update to the latest SP2, then add that maxtor HD and hopefully windows will recognize it.

Good Luck.
Law is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

head to dell website and look for the sata driver (give the model number and service tag)


try the promise sata from maxtor and see if that will work for now

also when you partition the drive with maxblast, you should format it as ntfs too. then the xp cd might see it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:55 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

When i partitioned it, it was ntfs. Should the partition fill the whole drive or not?

I found two sata card drivers at maxtor but none were promise. I did find the dell sata driver too, but nothing comes with a floppy drive anymore. I've called 7 friends and mine (the xps) is still the only one with a floppy drive. Therefore I have to wait until tomorrow when i go to campus.

You've been helpful. ill be back tomorrow.

thanks
houndofspace is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by houndofspace
When i partitioned it, it was ntfs. Should the partition fill the whole drive or not?

I found two sata card drivers at maxtor but none were promise. I did find the dell sata driver too, but nothing comes with a floppy drive anymore. I've called 7 friends and mine (the xps) is still the only one with a floppy drive. Therefore I have to wait until tomorrow when i go to campus.

You've been helpful. ill be back tomorrow.

thanks
please give me the computer model number. I'll show you how to make a sata floppy from scratch
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 10:44 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

hdd: Maxtor maxline Plus II (model 7y250m0)


I don't know where to find the model number of the computer itself. It's a Dell Dimension XPS Gen 2, P4 3.4 Ghz, 1 Ghz RAM.
The only unique looking number on the machine is the service code: 95FSN41

Hope this helps
houndofspace is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 10:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://support.dell.com/support/down...1&fileid=99757

it will ask you for a floppy. I don't have to make one.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.