Triple booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 08:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Triple booting

I'm buying another hard drive, and I was thinking of triple booting XP, Vista, and Ubuntu. To go about this, is the procedure:
  • While installing XP, create three partitions. 50GB for XP, 50GB for Vista, and 20GB for Ubuntu. Finish installing XP.
  • Install Vista on 30GB partition. Finish installing and update.
  • Install Ubuntu on 20GB partition. Create the swapdisk. (Or is it, create the swap parition beforehand, while making those partitions in the beginning?)

If I'm missing anything, please tell me.

Another question. I have two other hard drives as storage. Will Vista and Ubuntu, detect them right away, after they've been installed?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Triple booting

Okay your setup will be just perfect. As that is the same setup i use. XP/Vista/Ubuntu in that order on my hard drive. ubuntu wont need SWAP if you specs are good. SWAP is mainly for older PC's. I have never used a SWAP and my Ubuntu goes great with my P4 3.4GHz and 3GB DDR2 RAM.

Yes Vista and Ubuntu will read and write to those partitions easily. Ubuntu supports NTFS by default.

If you want help getting the Vista bootloader to work right check out

EasyBCD Documentation Home - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

The Wiki there will provide you with all the info you will need on how to add XP to the Vista bootloader and how to use the Vista bootlaoder with Ubuntu as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Triple booting

Ah I see. Thank you very much for your input, and the assurance.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Triple booting

Not a problem. Here to help.

If you got any real issues with using EasyBCD and setting up the BCD to work right jsut stop by the forums there.

The NeoSmart Forums

Either Computer Guru who wrote the program or me will be able to help you get it resolved.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Triple booting

Yep, that's the same order I installed when I was triple booting. I ended up never using Vista though, so it was removed when I reformatted a month ago.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Triple booting

If you do want a swap, though, you can set it up while you are installing Ubuntu. You don't need to do it ahead of time. Part of the Ubuntu installation is the GParted partitioner.

You can use EasyBCD if you want, but if you install Ubuntu last, you shouldn't need it. Ubuntu installation will set up Grub for you, which is a boot loader. If you already have XP and Vista set up, it will detect those and set up options to boot to them in grub.

Keep in mind that the latest Ubuntu does support read and write to NTFS, but Windows will not detect an ext3 partition. Ext3 is the default filesystem in Ubuntu. There are programs you can install in Windows that allow you to access files on ext3 partitions, but it's nowhere near as good as the support Linux has for NTFS.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Triple booting

I've used GRUB before, when I was playing with Ubuntu some time ago. And it worked pretty well for me. I might just do that. I also will be installing Ubuntu last.

Thanks for your tips.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Triple booting

I don't think Ubuntu supports NTFS by default but its a very easy thing to install, just search NTFS in add/remove programs and it comes up and takes like 10 seconds to install NTFS support.

I'd get a gparted livecd so you can troubleshoot partition problems. You may need to make the partitions bootable or resize them, its also alot easier to setup the partitions with in my experience than during an OS install.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 02:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Triple booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
I don't think Ubuntu supports NTFS by default but its a very easy thing to install, just search NTFS in add/remove programs and it comes up and takes like 10 seconds to install NTFS support.
Did for me. Even did on the livecd.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 02:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Triple booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
I don't think Ubuntu supports NTFS by default but its a very easy thing to install, just search NTFS in add/remove programs and it comes up and takes like 10 seconds to install NTFS support.
It does support ntfs natively. That was one of the new additions to this release.

I used the Vista bootloader instead of grub for the os's. I thought it looked neater than having the 2 windows options and then like 9 ubuntu options. But either way is fine I guess.
__________________

__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista not booting Pinscher Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-26-2007 10:23 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
Laptop not booting RobertXYZ Laptops and Notebooks 2 09-06-2007 09:27 AM
Laptop booting issues Cauncie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-16-2007 10:22 AM
Need spec input for new rig- triple monitor! tlharrell New Systems | Building and Buying 33 06-26-2007 01:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.