Triple Boot Questions - boot.ini editing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Triple Boot Questions - boot.ini editing

I have my HD partitioned with 3 primary partitions.

It looks like this:

Partition 1 - Win 98
Partition 2 - Win 2000
Partition 3 - Win XP

When I installed each OS, I hid the other partitions during install. This way, I can boot each one if I hide the others. Now I have unhid them and edited the boot.ini of Windows XP to succesfully load XP and 2000.

However, I cannot seem to get it to load Windows 98.

Here's how it looks:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Windo ws XP Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Win 98" /fastdetect

Is there something special I have to do to boot Windows 98. As I said, I can hide XP and Windows 98 will boot fine.
__________________

Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 06:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

I assume that the entry for XP under [operating systems] is meant to read ..disk(0)... not disk(1) if all your OS's are on the same drive.

Heres a copy of my boot.ini file, I also triple boot win98/2000/XP. Only difference is, I have win98 & 2000 on one hard drive & XP in the primary partition of the second hard drive.

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="Microso ft Windows 2000 Server" /fastdetect
C:\="Microsoft Windows"
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

hey hey hey were did you find this:
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Win 98" /fastdetect
THIS IS WRONG
we cant boot 98 like this
C:\="Microsoft Windows"
C:\ is a vareable depending on the partition with 98
Im a boot Pro if u need any help pm me
__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

by the way why would u need 98, 2000,XP
98,2000 are almost the same get ride of one of them dude
__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by psman
by the way why would u need 98, 2000,XP
98,2000 are almost the same get ride of one of them dude
psman, in what way precisely, are 98 & 2000 pro the same?
The only real similarity between them is that both 98 & 2k are often a damn sight more reliable than XP.
Samm is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

You could go right into the Windows XP Recovery Console, then have the system detect and re-write the master boot record. Much basic...right :amazed: ?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Oh...oh yeah....whats up with having XP and Win2k on a dual boot :freak: ???

I find that Win2k is a tad speedier. For example, I can't play High Definition Movies in Windows XP very well. It's all choppy. But when I play it in Win2k even multi tasking, it runs smoothly with no problem.

Also, if for some reason my Windows XP Partition goes koo koo, I can use Win2k temporarily, or even to diagnose the problem.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Right on, Alvin C

Windows 2000 is generally far more stable & secure than XP, it's been around longer & had most of it's bugs ironed out.
Samm is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 02:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default

So what command that runs the tool in XP that will redetect my installed OS's and....

how should I have my partitions during this? All partitions active? All bootable?
Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 05:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

To use the recovery console, you basically need to run the XP install CD & select R for recovery in the setup screen.

Once in recovery console, type: bootcfg /rebuild
this will scan your drives & automatically creates a boot.ini file.

Alternatively, you can create it manually from recovery console by typing : map
this will show you disk & partition info which should help you re-create boot.ini. Doesn't create the file for you though, so have to write down the info & alter boot.ini outside of recovery console.

Whatever method you use, backup the file first obviously.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.