tray error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default tray error

I noticed that my system tray had a blank icon


is this anything to be worried about? Is it a windows flaw, or a virus?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Try opening the task manager, go to the processes tab, and start closing non-essential processes and see if that gets rid of the icon. If it disappears after you close one, then you have found out what it is that's causing the invisible icon (just don't forget what you closed). I've never seen this problem before, but it may be a way to figure out what's causing it.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

everything in my processes is clean...mostly just NOD32, printer, and windows.

Should i log off and log in again?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

here is a list of my processes:

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.