Transfering Vista Install. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2007, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Question Transfering Vista Install.

I am looking for a way to transfer my Vista install from one disk to another. I am currently using an 80 GB IDE drive. I need to transfer it to a 250 GB SATA drive.

Is there a way to do this without having to reinstall Vista? Or would I be better off to just install it on the new drive and copy my files?

Keeping the IDE drive is not an option. It will be going into an external HDD enclosure for data storage purposes after I resolve this small issue.

Thank you for any assistance you could provide in this matter.
__________________

SinxarKnights is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 04:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Transfering Vista Install.

You can try getting a copy of norton ghost and doing a disk to disk transfer. That would be the easiest way that i know of to do it.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Transfering Vista Install.

I dont think a transfer will be possible. Since the boot will be looking for a IDE device when you will have it on a SATA device. You could try ghosting it and then see if you could use the Vista DVD to fix the boot. But there are no guarantees. I would jsut format and isntall and transfer the files. Easiest way.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 05:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Transfering Vista Install.

Nah new boards can easily be told to boot from a sata drive instead of ide.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Transfering Vista Install.

The drives can yes. The boot information within Vista cant. The drive info for the boot will not be the same. It will not read IDE disc (o) partition (1) like it would normally. It would ahve to be changed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Thumbs up Re: Transfering Vista Install.

Thank you for all of your responses. I will just reinstall it and copy my files then. I know how Windows don't like to be surprised when it boots and I don't feel like troubleshooting the install for months after the transfer when I could have done a quick install.

Thank you both for your input.
SinxarKnights is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 04:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Transfering Vista Install.

I have an update for this thread.

I ended up just copying the HDD with the Seagate Diskwizard. Worked like a charm. Only one very minor issue, I had to activate Windows again - my copy is legit so it was no big deal.
SinxarKnights is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 06:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Transfering Vista Install.

As long as all the components are the same activation is a breeze. The big issue comes if you ever have to replace the board.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to install vista weewun Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-22-2007 12:11 PM
How to install XP on preinstalled Vista? badboyzz77 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 08-17-2007 02:15 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Can I install Vista with this disk. computerlover Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-15-2007 09:14 AM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.