Transfer files from user to admin account - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 11:56 AM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you should put sp2 on it, slipstream it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:59 AM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

wouldn't that mean that I would lose all my songs and all sorts of docs if I put sp2 on it? And I don't know what slipstream means.

I wont be on to reply until 3p.m or 9a.m according to your last post that says 5:56 a.m.
__________________

__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:04 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

if you manually install sp2 you wont lose anything but if you slipstream it, that means you need to reinstall. slipstream means to slip sp2 in an xp installation cd.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:28 PM   #34 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

ok so I need to install sp2 on my pc using an xp HE sp2 cd. Which also means I lose everything.

To prevent losing everything I could just put all my songs on a cd. I've heard that it's good to wipe your comp once a year and I haven't done it once. So, installing sp2 isn't that bad of an idea.
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:31 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it sure isnt. you said your cd already has sp2 in it?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:41 PM   #36 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

na, this comp was a cheapy from walmart lol. It's hp. I didn't get a disc. They already had it installed on here. I don't know what sp it is. The booklet says version 2002 on the cover.
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:44 PM   #37 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

ok..well install it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:03 PM   #38 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

I did the ctrl+alt+delete (x2) on the logon screen. It let me type in "Administrator" to log in as that. I put the right password in because it didn't tell I did anything wrong. It just said that it couldn't let me on because of account restrictions. Anyone know what the heck that is?
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 06:59 PM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you try it without a password?

1. At a command prompt, type "control userpasswords2" and press Enter to open the Windows 2000-style User Accounts
application.
2. On the Users tab, clear the Users Must Enter A User Name And Password To Use This Computer check box and then
click OK.
3. In the Automatically Log On dialog box that appears, type the user name and password for the account you want to be
logged on each time you start your computer.

Remove Login Password

Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Local Security Settings/Minimum Password Length/Reduce it to 0 (No password required). Control Panel/User Account/Your Account/Remove Password.

Cannot Change the Administrator Password in Control Panel

After you log on as an administrator to a computer that is not a member of a domain, when you double-click User Accounts in Control Panel to change the password for the built-in Administrator account, the Administrator account may not appear in the list of user accounts. Consequently, you cannot change its password.

This behavior can occur because the Administrator account logon option appears only in Safe mode if more than one account is created on the system. The Administrator account is available in Normal mode only if there are no other accounts on the system. To work around this behavior:

- If you are running Windows XP Home Edition, restart the computer and then use a power user account to log on to the
computer in Safe mode.

- If you are running Windows XP Professional, reset the password in the Local Users and Groups snap-in in Microsoft
Management Console (MMC):

1. Click Start, and then click Run.
2. In the Open box, type "mmc" (without the quotation marks), and then click OK to start MMC.
3. Start the Local Users and Groups snap-in.
4. Under Console Root, expand "Local Users and Groups", and then click Users.
5. In the right pane, right-click Administrator, and then click Set Password.
6. Click Proceed in the message box that appears.
7. Type and confirm the new password in the appropriate boxes, and then click OK.

How to Change User Password at Command Prompt

How to use the net user command to change the user password at a Windows command prompt. Only administrators can change domain passwords at the Windows command prompt. To change a user's password at the command prompt, log on as an administrator and type: "net user <user_name> * /domain" (without the quotation marks)

When you are prompted to type a password for the user, type the new password, not the existing password. After you type the new password, the system prompts you to retype the password to confirm. The password is now changed.

Alternatively, you can type the following command: net user <user_name> <new_password>. When you do so, the password changes without prompting you again. This command also enables you to change passwords in a batch file.

Non-administrators receive a "System error 5 has occurred. Access is denied" error message when they attempt to change the password.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.