Transfer files from user to admin account - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 12:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

instead of going thru all this, why dont you just install Ares on the admin account?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

b/c I have to delete the user account I'm on now in order to see the admin account on the logon screen.

I can't install it on the admin unless i can get on the admin. Which i don't know how to do if it isn't on the logon screen.
__________________

__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Now if you log off or restart, you should be able to see “Administrator” on the logon screen even in normal mode.

You said you cant see the admin account? This here says you are supposed too....

I might be missing something...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

yeah...that doesn't make sense to me either. When I was going through your registry tweaking directions I made sure that I did it all precisely. I even went through it two more times to check it. It was perfect to the CAPS.

So, it says I should see it and yet when I am at the home screen of users I see it but it says that in order to see it on the logon screen I have to delete Neo.
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

This is where I got it from:

http://www.techjunkeez.com/archive/r...gon_screen.htm
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:03 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

hmmmm....

do you know how to "undo" what i've done so to speak? I guess that I'm not so much concerned with getting into that admin account as I am fixing the programs again.
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

system restore or add the reg files back...

change the value back to 0 and that should do it.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:11 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

okay... I am going to restore before today and check my reg files over again to make sure that I did everything correct. Is there any real benefit to using the admin account rather than the one I'm on now? Everyonce in a while I get the "only the admin can access this file" message and it ****es me off because I have myself as admin. I assume the admin user will fix this but is it worth it?
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Not for sure, Ive never run into this problem but it does happen to a lot of people. By the way, you should always back up the reg when you edit it, this will be faster to restore then doing a system restore
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:15 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

how do you back up the registry?
__________________

__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.