Transfer files from user to admin account - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default Transfer files from user to admin account

When I was looking at my user accounts it said that in order to see the Administrator account on the login section I had to have no other users (the one I'm on now) and not including Guest. So I was trying to make sure that whatever was on my name now could be on the admin name (i.e Ares)....then I ran into a problem.

I was trying to make sure that personal things could be transfered to admin account since I had to delete Neo (my account). Well, I put Ares into the Shared Documents folder thinking that I would then be able to use it on the admin account.

I checked for it in the guest account and the desktop icon now showed an empty browser as its picture and when I clicked on Ares through the My Comp/ Program Files area it showed up but all 530 songs of mine were not to be seen. I had to find the my shared folder itself and I did. It is on the desktop and I can click on the songs there and play them through real player. I like being able to see them on Ares though. It updates easier and stuff. So..I tried to put Ares and others I put in that shared folder back but it didn't work. I system restored and then I clicked on Ares and every folder was just black. No songs. No my shared folder.

So that's where I am now. THe internet part of Ares works but when I start clicking on the usual audio folder nothing shows up but a black screen. I only found the music folder itself because i searched a song and located its folder. THen I sent that folder to desktop. So i can listen to the songs through real player. I am doing that now.

Is there anyway I can fix this? ANd is there anyway I can successfully make sure that everything in my personal setting can transfer over to the admin account?

To state exactly what that admin account says....
I click on home user accounts and it shows Neo, Administrator (the one I created through the registry using your post), and Guest. I click on Administrator and it says in the white area "The administrator account is only visible on the welcome screen when no other user accounts exist (except the guest account), or when you start your comp in safe mode". That's what spurred on all my ideas. Btw, I use home edition.
__________________

__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what post of mine did you refer too?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

"Show Admin on the Logon Screen" post you did June 24th

I searched for it
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you did the reg tweaks also?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

I did everything you said to on that post.
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

i'll look it over again...just to make sure
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so what you are wanting is to be able to see your songs in Ares and play them right?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

ok, now I see why you asked that question.

Yeah, I tweaked the reg
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

ok....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

yeah, I want to be able to make sure that all of my personal settings can successfully 1) be fixed b/c this ares problem and 2) be accessible on the Admin account when I delete this Neo account. That's the only way it will show up on the welcome screen
__________________

__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.