total reinstall of win xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2003, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Default total reinstall of win xp

I am currently running windows xp pro butI am trying to do a fresh install of windows xp pro because I`m selling my computer.I must have some corrupted files because I get a error message when the computer tries to reboot as part of the installation proccess.So I can`t do a new install from within Windows.
I was thinking that if I could boot to the xp cd I may have better luck.However my computer won`t boot to the cd on startup.
Could anyone suggest how I could do this.Or possibly tell me what I must do to reformat so I can start from scratch ? Any suggestions would be so appreciated, thanks Al
__________________

randomlight is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Set the BIOS's 'Boot First Device' as CD-ROM.
__________________

roho is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Your cd may not be bootable If rohos suggestion doesnt work. If thats the case, you'll need to make boot diskettes. I think there is like 6 if I'm not mistaken? Good luck.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 07:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Default thankyou

thanks folks I was able to load from boot up and have reinstalled win xp. thanks again
randomlight is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Way to Go!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you will not be able to keep its CD key if you're gonna keep XP
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Are ya trying to do a new install because you're selling your old PC and Just want to blank the Hard Drive so none of your old Data is on it and give the guy the PC with Just Win XP on it? Then Apokalipse is right the CD Key goes with the PC my Friend.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 07:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Default

And thanks again for the continued input.. I could not agree more with your moral point .Yes My new computer came with a copy of xp .You guys are great.
__________________

randomlight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.