Tired of activation... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2006, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default Tired of activation...

To begin i legaly own the copy of windows but i figure this thread will be deleted anyways but its worth a shot. I reformat every month and now my activations have been taken up. I cant call, lets just say i dont have a phone anymore... but thats a diffrent story. and my friend wont do it for me anymore. anyways I know how to edit the regestry that so that i can change how many days it has till activation is do. but when i restart it changes the regestry back to what it was before hand. any clue on how to keep that from happening. im not going to mention what to edit (cuz then the thread Will be deleted and i dont want that) but u can pm me and ill tell u.

srry mods if you think this is a bad thread.
__________________

harley3344 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

AC
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Go through activation one more time with a fresh install. Add any updates you want/need, as well as any programs you know you will always install. The make an image of it (another hard drive).

That way, when you need to reformat, all you do is reinstall the image.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 01:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default

do you really need to reformat every month??

I reformat once a year and that's fine.

You must be hitting up a lot of porn sites for it to be once a month.


And a phone is a neccesity.
gloomer is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 03:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

actuallly its torrents and yes i do have friends that use my comp every now and then, which is sometimes why i reformat so much
harley3344 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 03:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
AC
uhm whats that about

EDIT: srry bout the double p. and i thoguht about the image thing, but i would still like to know. when i try to replace the windows protected files (like the startup jingle thing) and the splash screen windows replaces it, i tryed booting into safemode but it doesnt work. how do i disable the protection if i can do it relitivaly easly, meaning without changing a million regestrys
__________________

harley3344 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.