Time out question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Unhappy Time out question

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section but I don't know where else to post it. Anyway I have a question about my comp, when i run regedit and spybot it times out and closes after 10-15 seconds. Sometimes it'll close down instantly and sometime it'll stay running for a minute if I don't touch it. Everything else runs fine and fast. Can someone please help me, I'm so lost outside of my automotive world lol. Thanks in advance. Windows XP if it matters by the way.
__________________

projectsupra is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Could u post a screenshot of the process list ... Or run something like Hijackthis n' post the log ..
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 02:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, that and a list of the specs of your PC.....no hardware is needed but the OS type and some software that you run on the PC as well.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 09:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Do you have a virus scanner?
ADZ is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 01:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Windows XP 02, not a whole lot of software except kazaa lite, a couple car test programs, tribes 1, spyware finder programs, and AIM. Heres a list of whats running as of now..

CFD.exe
EXPLORER.EXE
RUNDLL32.EXE (new one as of today)
SVCHOST.EXE
IEXPLORER.EXE
devldr32.exe
DellMMKb.exe
TASKMGR.EXE
Csrss.exe
SPOOLSV.EXE
SVCHOST.EXE
SVCHOST.EXE
SVCHOST.EXE
SVCHOST.EXE
LSASS.EXE
SERVICES.EXE
WINLOGON.EXE
CSRSS.EXE
SMSS.EXE
NAVAPSVC.EXE
CTSVCCDA.EXE
Nhksrv.exe
CManager.exe
WkCalRem.exe
System
System Idle Process

Usually theres only 18-19 processes so I don't know why theres 26 all of a sudden. I can get a screenshot if you still want, Just figured this would be easier unless you need to see the mem usage or something. I've got Adaware, Spybot, CWS shredder, Hijackthis, and Norton, bad thing is though I can't run Norton cause it's doing the same thing spybot and regedit are now. I saved the log for hijackthis if you still need it I'll post it. Thanks again.
projectsupra is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Don't seem to see anythin' wierd here .. Post the Hijackthis log .. It contains a little more details .
N' it would make it easier to figure out which process is what ..
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 02:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Hopefully someone can figure this out for me, hope i don't have some weird virus

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\DELLMMKB.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\devldr32.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
C:\Program Files\BellSouth\Connection Manager\CManager.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Nhksrv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.EXE
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\BROADJ~1\CLIENT~1\CFD.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Documents and Settings\kyle\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://home.bellsouth.net/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,SearchAssistant = ,
F0 - system.ini: Shell=Explorer.exe C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
F1 - win.ini: load=C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
F1 - win.ini: run=C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
F2 - REG:system.ini: Shell=Explorer.exe C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: NavErrRedir Class - {A045DC85-FC44-45be-8A50-E4F9C62C9A84} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ZingSpooler] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Zing\ZingSpooler.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\Updreg.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [REGSHAVE] C:\Program Files\REGSHAVE\REGSHAVE.EXE /AUTORUN
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DellTouch] C:\WINDOWS\DELLMMKB.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AHQInit] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\Program\AHQInit.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AdaptecDirectCD] "C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [tgcmd] "C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /nosystray
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MMTrayLSI] MMTrayLSI.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MMTray2K] MMTray2k.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MMTray] MMTray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CSRSS] C:\WINDOWS\CSRSS.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Runtime Process] C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [updater] C:\Program Files\Common files\updater\wupdater.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Runtime Process] C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Runtime Process] C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [li-rcash00001] c:\program files\Webdialer\vldial.exe -m
O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [Runtime Process] C:\WINDOWS\Csrss.exe
O4 - Startup: Connection Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\BellSouth\Connection Manager\CManager.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = ?
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Define - C:\WINDOWS\Web\ERS_DEF.HTM
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search the Web - C:\WINDOWS\Web\ERS_SRC.HTM
O8 - Extra context menu item: Look Up in &Encyclopedia - C:\WINDOWS\Web\ERS_ENC.HTM
O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: MoneySide (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.prestage.com
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.staginglight.com
O16 - DPF: {0246ECA8-996F-11D1-BE2F-00A0C9037DFE} (TDServer Control) - http://www.bitstream.com/wfplayer/tdserver.cab
O16 - DPF: {2E3811E9-5504-11D0-A1C4-444553540000} (Tree.PracticeTree) - http://www.prestage.com/ActiveX/holeshot.cab
O16 - DPF: {5E943D9C-F8DC-4258-8E3F-A61BB3405A33} (ZingBatchAXDwnl Class) - http://www.imagestation.com/common/c...on=4,3,2,20802
O16 - DPF: {A48D0309-8DA3-41AA-98E4-89194D471890} (Pulse V5 ActiveX Control) - http://a320.g.akamai.net/7/320/1456/...ayer5AxWin.cab
O16 - DPF: {C3DFA998-A486-11D4-AA25-00C04F72DAEB} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://sc.groups.msn.com/controls/PhotoUC/MsnPUpld.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/s...sh/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {f760cb9e-c60f-4a89-890e-fae8b849493e} -
projectsupra is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 11:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Nobody has any ideas? This is getting really irritating since some of my car test programs do it too. Thanks for trying to help anyway, much appreciated.
projectsupra is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 02:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Jiminy777
Default

Have you tried un/reinstalling Spybot and updating the app?

Here is there link again:
http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?page=download
__________________

Jiminy777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.