Things Are Wrong pt.2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default Things Are Wrong pt.2

The short story:

Some system32 file got corrupt and my computer freezes on boot up at the widows loading page. When i tried to use the recovery cd for XP Professional it gave me another error and said setup cant continue. And i cant get my computer to work.

The details:

The error i first got from my computer on boot up was:

Couldnt open drive multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partion(1)
NTLDR: Couldnt open drive multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partion(1)

I tried to use the recovery disk to repair XP Professional but before i could get it to load up it gave another error (for reference Error #2):

File\i386\ntkrnlmp.exe could not be loaded
The error code is 7

Then hours later i called tech support and the tech told me to put in the recovery cd for XP Professional. To my suprise and luck it worked! So i chose repair and it started copying file and eventually restarted my computer. But on restart as it was about to open the XP loading screen it flashed a blue screen of death but before i could read it disapeared and the computer restarted, continuing that loop over and over untill it just got hung up and stoped.

I tried to load the XP Professional cd again but it didnt load up to the setup screen instead before it could boot up it displayed a blue screen which showed this error:

Page_Fault_In_Nonpaged_Area

So i quickly restarted and boot to the cd but i got Error #2 again as listed above. I tried another cd dive(which was a spare one i had from another computer). After i finally got the old drive out and put in the spare drive it took about 20 min, I started to boot the computer from the recovery cd again. I got a new error which stated:

File toside.sys is corrupt

I shutdown the computer and imeadiatly tried again but got error #2.

If you read this far im surprised. I did the same thing with my final cd drive i had in my working computer and the same thing happed as with the spare CD drive i mentioned above.

I did try the recovery CD in this computer that the third cd drive came from and it sucessefully booted (from the recovery CD)to the setup menu 3 times in a row.

So whats wrong with my computer?What do i do to fix it?
__________________

everton is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Unhappy

Sorry for the double topic post
__________________

everton is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

From what I've read it sounds like a memory error problem. Remove your RAM leaving enough memory to start Windows. If you still receive errors then remove and try each stick of RAM one at a time.

You could also try using Memtest86 to check your RAM as well.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default

Yea i thought it might be that also. I have 1gb or ram(two 512 sticks). I had already swaped thier places and it didnt change anything i guess i could try them seperatly since i have nothing else left to try.
everton is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it can also be that something misconfigured your ram, too. setting your bios to the defaults or reinstalling windows will fix it in that scenario
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default

ericb that is my problem though i cant reinstall windows at the moment because i cant load up my xp recovery cd which is the only way i can reinstall windows
everton is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use power max in my sig to wipe the harddrive clean (pick quick format). then reinstall windows. you might have a boot sector virus.

or that cd is seriously scratched.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default

ok thanks ill try it
__________________

everton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.