thin client - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2005, 09:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Angry thin client

I just purchased a second hand HP CompaqT5000 thin client with WindowsXP Pro embedded and Citrix Program Neighbourhood and Remote Desktop Connection installed.
I would like to connect the thin client to a PC that is running Windows Xp Home.Can someone please advise how to set it up?
Any assistance is greatly appreciated

Thanks
__________________

sarahjac is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

first you need to make sure they both have network cards
then, if you're connecting them directly (not through a router or hub) you will need a crossover cable.

if you're connecting them through a router, any cat5 cable should work.

when you connect teh computers, XP home should have automatically configured the network settings, with the workgroup as MSHOME. you might have to configure Citrix to work in MSHOME also. I am not familiar with Citrix so I can't tell you how to configure that.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 12:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default

thank you for your quick reply
sarahjac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.