There are no active mixer devices available. To install mixer devices, Go to Control - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 125
Default There are no active mixer devices available. To install mixer devices, Go to Control

Ok, after reformating my friend's Hp Pavilion Slimline s7600e because it decided to go all gay with some error, now there is no sound. When I go to volume control this error appears "There are no active mixer devices available. To install mixer devices, Go to Control Panel and Other Hardware..... "

I tried several "fixes" I found by googling but nothing worked, I went to the Hp site(where he got the comp) and looked up for drivers and there is one under 'Original drivers' -> "Fall 2006 Original Realtek High Definition Audio Drivers"
I tried that but when installing it says that I need Microsoft's Universal Audio Architecture, but I don't know where to find that crap.

So then I did dxdiag command and it says the computer doesn't have any sound devices installed and suggest to go to the manufacturer and look for drivers.
I know for a fact that the computer has an integrated card, so in order to get a driver update I need to look for what mobo it has? right?
So how do I do that without having to open the **** thing.
__________________

El loco is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: There are no active mixer devices available. To install mixer devices, Go to Cont

install the chipset
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: There are no active mixer devices available. To install mixer devices, Go to Cont

well...HP can be a nightmare for you

are you Vista or XP...

start here...or alter for Vista
HP and Compaq Desktop PCs*-* UAA (Universal Audio Architecture)*

follow the links for realtek:
Realtek

and/or:
Microsoft QFE Update (KB835221) to Support UAA Bus Driver*

make sure to obtain the file:
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp26001-26500/sp26334.exe

but follow the links so you know what you are dl'ing and not just reading what I say

The above is xp based...if you're Vista you should be able to change accordingly...or I can make it easier for you:
Software & Driver downloads*HP Pavilion Slimline s7600e CTO Desktop PC
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: There are no active mixer devices available. To install mixer devices, Go to Cont

if you install the latest nvidia chipset drivers that will make the above a moot point as it will be included. then you can install the audio drivers
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.