Theme Packs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2006, 02:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Question Theme Packs

Hey all,

does anyone know where to get good Windows Vista style theme packs for Win XP Pro ??

thanks
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=96964

nice wallpapers/screensavers
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Microsoft Royale theme:

http://www.microsoft.com/Downloads/d...displaylang=en
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

i ment like so it changes the window styles and the start menu style...
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 01:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Windowblinds

StyleXP
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

WindowsBlinds 5 would be your best bet. After that go to joejoe.biz and look thru his download section. He has some great downlaods for WB themes and Icons from Vista 5308.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Those methods are your best bet but you should know if you use those products your system resources are going to be used I heard that StyleXP also comes bundled with some software not sure if it's true.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Those methods are your best bet but you should know if you use those products your system resources are going to be used I heard that StyleXP also comes bundled with some software not sure if it's true.
WB5 does not use System Resources!!!!

It replaces the uxltheme.dll now. Or whatever the theme file is for XP. I think the uxltheme.dll is the Vista theme. But to clarify WB% does not use resources anymore. So please make sure you clarify that.

No where on my task manager is windowsblinds located. Not even the Icon packager i use to replace my XP icons with Vista is on my task manager. So those 2 products do not use system resources.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Is there any way too add themes to the actual windows themes in display properties?

Ive used windowblinds before and it seemed to slow down my computer alot. Maybe you have it set up different?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 05:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Windowsblinds 5 is totally differnt than before. With WB4 and before it would use resources but not they have it set up to jsut replace the windows theme. It doesnt use resources anymore. It is basically like doing it thru the display properties but with Windowsblinds acting as the Display properties.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.