Terminal Services in Xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Default Terminal Services in Xp

I was wondering how to use terminal services in Windows XP. I know i can use Remote desktop, but I want to use terminal services instead. Is there a way to do this?
__________________

techdude25 is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default

Terminal services require a terminal server generally installed on a Windows 2000 Domain environment for remote administration. Remote Desktop is for home use.
__________________

__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Remote desktop is a form of Terminal services. just limited to 1 user at a time. As gabe stated, to really have/use terminal services, you need a terminal server.
What is it you are looking to do?
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Remote Desktop is evil! Turn it off and never speak of it again!

And if you're really serious about using terminal services with XP, use Server-2003 instead of 2000. While 2000 is great, 2003 works better with XP.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default

Don't encourage him lol - Inris, use vnc if you need remote desktop abilities. Its free. www.realvnc.com
__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 04:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

so is remote desktop. I work in an enterprise environment and use it all the time. Even from home though our VPN. It works better then anything thing else and costs us nothing. Nor does it break our IT policy, which states that all remote applications need to go though our 90 day stress test. Since this is almost never going to happen, we use what we can. I can say that remote desktop works wonderful for the needs we have. then there is remote assistance which also works wonders, both inside the environment and outside.
as to thirdparty stuff, I have used and tested a number and can say with a little certainty, all have their faults, including VNC.
as to the security concerns, you can block traffic at the router for this, so you can't go out or back in, or only enable it when needed.
This quote comes to mind...

"If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them." - Isaac Asimov -
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.