Telnet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2003, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Question Telnet

Can anyone tell me some basical telnet commands that I would need to know to use it. I know very little about this command. Is there anyway I can telnet into a pc thats behind a router on a network? Thanks!!!!
__________________

ajoyce is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 223
Default

telnet

Originally a Unix command now used by a lot of OSs. Basically an unsecure way to access another computer. Usage 'telnet slothmud.org 6101' but if you hit enter after typing telnet, its 'open slothmud.org'

There are many enhanced 3rd party telnet widgets out there, like TinTin or wintin if you need alias scripting etc.

If you need to get by a firewall, make sure you have the telnet port open(port 23), or the port number specified, as in 6101 in my example above.

If you can't see text or are having weird format problems - check your display properties in telnet...i.e. Terminal Type (vt100, local cursor echo etc..)while in telnet, use '?' for options(XP), and Winblowz 95/98 have a options box for terminal type, machine, and port.

Use SSH for ecure connections.
__________________

__________________
There is no reason for any individual to have a computer in his home.
President, Digital Equipment, 1977
chalk is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 153
Default

One telnet command that is good is finger (username) without the (). It tells you if they are online, how long, idle, etc.

Whois (username) without () tells you about their account if I remember right. It's Telnet or IRC.
__________________
COMPtia A+
COMPtia Network+
Quantum is offline  
Old 10-20-2003, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17
Default

Is there a way to set up WinTin to reconnect every time a session ends? (to the same system)
hempage is offline  
Old 10-20-2003, 10:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to jrice
Default

The commands that I use the most are most likely "ls" for listing the files that are in the directory you are currently in and "cd (folder directory name)" w/ out the () to get a certain directory.
jrice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.